HomeBloggingEvents Are A Great Thing To Blog About
blog-about-holidays

When you are working up content for people who view your blog you can write about events coming up on their calendar. People love holidays and there are some that just seem to sneak up on you. Here’s a partial list for 2016 to get your started.

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
       
01-Jan Friday New Year’s Day National holiday
06-Jan Wednesday Epiphany Christian
07-Jan Thursday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox
13-Jan Wednesday Stephen Foster Memorial Day Observance
14-Jan Thursday Orthodox New Year Orthodox
18-Jan Monday Martin Luther King Day National holiday
25-Jan Monday Tu Bishvat/Tu B’Shevat Jewish holiday
29-Jan Friday Kansas Day Observance
01-Feb Monday National Freedom Day Observance
02-Feb Tuesday Groundhog Day Observance
05-Feb Friday National Wear Red Day Observance
08-Feb Monday Chinese New Year Observance
09-Feb Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras Observance
10-Feb Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian
14-Feb Sunday Valentine’s Day Observance
15-Feb Monday Washington’s Birthday National holiday
15-Feb Monday National Flag of Canada Day Observance
01-Mar Tuesday St. David’s Day Observance
02-Mar Wednesday Read Across America Day Observance
04-Mar Friday Employee Appreciation Day Observance
17-Mar Thursday St. Patrick’s Day Observance
20-Mar Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
20-Mar Sunday March equinox Season
24-Mar Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
24-Mar Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
25-Mar Friday Good Friday State holiday
26-Mar Saturday Holy Saturday Christian
27-Mar Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
28-Mar Monday Easter Monday Christian
06-Apr Wednesday National Tartan Day Observance
13-Apr Wednesday Thomas Jefferson’s Birthday Observance
15-Apr Friday Tax Day Observance
19-Apr Tuesday National Library Workers’ Day Observance
23-Apr Saturday Passover (first day) Jewish holiday
27-Apr Wednesday Administrative Professionals Day Observance
28-Apr Thursday Take our Daughters and Sons to Work Day Observance
29-Apr Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox
29-Apr Friday Arbor Day State holiday
30-Apr Saturday Last Day of Passover Jewish holiday
30-Apr Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox
01-May Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox
01-May Sunday Law Day Observance
01-May Sunday Loyalty Day Observance
02-May Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox
04-May Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
05-May Thursday Ascension Day Christian
05-May Thursday Isra and Mi’raj Muslim
05-May Thursday Cinco de Mayo Observance
05-May Thursday National Day of Prayer Observance
06-May Friday National Nurses Day Observance
07-May Saturday National Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Day Observance
08-May Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
12-May Thursday Yom Ha’atzmaut Jewish holiday
15-May Sunday Pentecost Christian
15-May Sunday Peace Officers Memorial Day Observance
16-May Monday Whit Monday Christian
20-May Friday National Defense Transportation Day Observance
21-May Saturday Armed Forces Day Observance
22-May Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
22-May Sunday National Maritime Day Observance
25-May Wednesday Emergency Medical Services for Children Day Observance
25-May Wednesday National Missing Children’s Day Observance
26-May Thursday Corpus Christi Christian
26-May Thursday Lag BaOmer Jewish holiday
30-May Monday Memorial Day National holiday
05-Jun Sunday Doughnut Day Observance
06-Jun Monday D-Day Observance
07-Jun Tuesday Ramadan starts Muslim
12-Jun Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
14-Jun Tuesday Flag Day Observance
19-Jun Sunday Father’s Day Observance
19-Jun Sunday Juneteenth Local observance
20-Jun Monday June Solstice Season
20-Jun Monday American Eagle Day Observance
01-Jul Friday Canada Day National holiday
02-Jul Saturday Lailat al-Qadr Muslim
04-Jul Monday Independence Day National holiday
07-Jul Thursday Eid al-Fitr Muslim
24-Jul Sunday Parents’ Day Observance
07-Aug Sunday Purple Heart Day Observance
14-Aug Sunday Tisha B’Av Jewish holiday
15-Aug Monday Assumption of Mary Christian
19-Aug Friday National Aviation Day Observance
21-Aug Sunday Senior Citizens Day Observance
26-Aug Friday Women’s Equality Day Observance
05-Sep Monday Labor Day National holiday
10-Sep Saturday Carl Garner Federal Lands Cleanup Day Observance
11-Sep Sunday Patriot Day Observance
11-Sep Sunday National Grandparents Day Observance
13-Sep Tuesday Eid al-Adha Muslim
16-Sep Friday Constitution Day and Citizenship Day observed Observance
16-Sep Friday National POW/MIA Recognition Day Observance
17-Sep Saturday Constitution Day and Citizenship Day Observance
22-Sep Thursday September equinox Season
25-Sep Sunday Gold Star Mother’s Day Observance
03-Oct Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
03-Oct Monday Muharram Muslim
03-Oct Monday Child Health Day Observance
04-Oct Tuesday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
09-Oct Sunday Leif Erikson Day Observance
10-Oct Monday Columbus Day Observance
10-Oct Monday Native Americans’ Day Observance
10-Oct Monday Indigenous People’s Day Local observance
12-Oct Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
15-Oct Saturday White Cane Safety Day Observance
17-Oct Monday First Day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
17-Oct Monday Boss’s Day Observance
23-Oct Sunday Last Day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
24-Oct Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
25-Oct Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
31-Oct Monday Halloween Observance
01-Nov Tuesday All Saints’ Day Christian
02-Nov Wednesday All Souls’ Day Christian
08-Nov Tuesday Election Day Observance
10-Nov Thursday Marine Corps Birthday Observance
11-Nov Friday Veterans Day National holiday
24-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Day National holiday
25-Nov Friday Robert E Lee’s Birthday Observance
25-Nov Friday Presidents’ Day State holiday
25-Nov Friday Lincoln’s Birthday/Lincoln’s Day State holiday
25-Nov Friday Black Friday State holiday
25-Nov Friday American Indian Heritage Day State holiday
27-Nov Sunday First Sunday of Advent Christian
28-Nov Monday Cyber Monday Observance
06-Dec Tuesday St Nicholas’ Day Observance
07-Dec Wednesday Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day Observance
08-Dec Thursday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
12-Dec Monday The Prophet’s Birthday Muslim
12-Dec Monday Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe Observance
17-Dec Saturday Pan American Aviation Day Observance
17-Dec Saturday Wright Brothers Day Observance
21-Dec Wednesday December Solstice Season
24-Dec Saturday Christmas Eve State holiday
24-Dec Saturday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
25-Dec Sunday Chanukah/Hanukkah (first day) Jewish holiday
25-Dec Sunday Christmas Day National holiday, Christian
26-Dec Monday Boxing Day Common Local holidays
26-Dec Monday Kwanzaa (until Jan 1) Observance
31-Dec Saturday New Year’s Eve Observance

Comments

Events Are A Great Thing To Blog About — No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>